Don’t Panic

This is where your positivity will be put to its greatest test. Let’s use our critical thinking skills.

1 – Nothing has happened yet. You do not know how this is going to turn out. Worrying about it, however, is guaranteed not to fix it. Taking the correct action is.

2 – The money you owe the pharmacy she recommended is within your budget. It’s a drag, but this is money you yourself will get on Friday, or you can borrow it from your father, like your sister suggested. It’s not a huge amount of money.

3 – You may be able to reduce your medication dosage. Not likely, because they could have done that when they had the chance, but that may be able to stretch what you have on hand, or reduce it to an affordable level.

4 – Your new doctor may be able to get Medicare to pay for it. This whole Medicare deal is very confusing, and a new medical team may be able to do something about it. If, for some reason, your social worker doesn’t give you a better answer by Friday, you take your new work schedule and use it to schedule an appointment with your old doctor. You explain the situation to him, and hope that he is able to write something, or recommend something, or whatever the case may be. Best of all, he may be able to get in contact with Medicare and get in contact with them to get you something.

5 – Medicare was supposed to end anyway, which should make you eligible for ACA. At some point, you will regain eligibility. If that’s sooner, that’s to your advantage. If you can use #4 to get you to #5, problem solved again.

6 – You’re used to the worst case scenario. I won’t mention it by name, because I don’t want to put that negative energy into the world, but you know how to deal with that situation, because you have before. And that’s /way/ down the line. There may be a solution to be reached beforehand.

It seems to me, however, that the bottom line is to figure out what the limits are of my Medicare. If I have it, how does it function, if it doesn’t function like full on Medicare? (My old social worker from my old dialysis center may be able to help with that also. Perhaps I should try contacting her?) To me, this is the best solution to the problem, I just need some answers on that. Oh! Almost forgot #7

7 – I signed up for the state health care program already. That may be able to help too.

But yeah, let me call my old social worker…!

So now, after speaking with her (a good decision born of critical thinking), the plan is this:

Ask my social worker if the grant can buy me more time, and if she would recommend cancelling Medicare.  That’s step one.  Step two is to ask Medicare if I qualify for Part D.  If so, sign up for that, and use it until my eligibility for the other parts runs out, and apply for the Affordable Care Act.  If not, and if my social worker recommends it, cancel Medicare, and apply for the Affordable Care Act that way.  Either way it goes, I will solve this.  It’s only a matter of time.

If not, ask

Leave a Reply

